Posted by: Amy | September 12, 2013

My Top 7 Romantic Comedies

(This is a seven-day series of silly sentiments.)

 

Here is my list of favorite Romantic Comedies, in no particular order ….

1) “Moonstruck” ~ Dean Martin’s “That’s Amore” opens the movie. Can’t beat that. Nicholas Cage has made a career of playing anguished souls.

2) “Strictly Ballroom” ~ Strictly mind candy. Introduced me to Doris Day’s “Perhaps Perhaps Perhaps.” The final Paso Doble scene makes me want to take ballroom dancing lessons.

3) “10 Things I Hate About You” ~ I haven’t seen this since Heath Ledger passed away, but it remains one of my all-time favorite movies. file5091340639221Along with Ledger, Julia Stiles, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Gabrielle Union went on to successful careers. Favorite quote: “Remove head from sphincter, then drive!”

4) “Love Actually” ~ Loosely linked stories at Christmastime in London. Bill Nighy is hilarious as Billy Mack, the aging rocker. Hugh Grant, Colin Firth, Liam Neeson, Alan Rickman, Emma Thompson and Keira Knightley all find love one way or another.

5) “Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement” ~ Don’t laugh. I know it’s silly and predictable. But I like Anne Hathaway. “A Love That Will Last” by Renee Olstead is a sweet song.

6) “Something’s Gotta Give” ~ Diane Keaton and Jack Nicholson. Classic. Oh, and there’s that hot babe, Keanu Reeves. (More on him later.) Favorite scene? The sequence that features Diane Keaton sobbing and laughing while writing.

7) “It’s Complicated” ~ I never paid much attention to Meryl Streep until I saw this movie and “Mamma Mia.” Now I know why people love her so much. Best scene ever? When Alec Baldwin accidentally moons Steve Martin.

 

Let’s compare faves. Which movies are on your list?

 

Responses

  1. I’ve never seen “10 Things I Hate About You,” but now I’m intrigued. My faves? I really like quirky romances, like the relationship in “Silver Linings Playbook.” For a twist on the typical fairy tale, my vote goes to “The Princess Bride” and “Ever After.”

    • I’ve heard lots of good things about “Silver Linings Playbook.” I’ve only seen bits and pieces of “The Princess Bride.” (I know. Shocker!) I liked “Ever After.” Drew Barrymore is one of my favorite actors.
      Thanks, Jennifer!

  2. I like the ones you listed and I also like Jennifer’s choice of Silver Lining Playbook. I would add You’ve Got Mail to the list.

    • I need to see Silver Lining Playbook. And You’ve Got Mail is also one of my all-time faves. Maybe because it involves books? LOL! Thanks, Sabra.


Leave a Reply

Categories

