Posted by: Amy | September 1, 2012

September … Do you remember?

 

A cake from a few birthdays ago.

Ah … September.

My birthday month. Yes, I do celebrate the full 30 days.

A narcissistic characteristic? Perhaps. Some people don’t like to celebrate their day, let alone the whole month.

Adding another year means different things to different people. I don’t mind getting older. It’s a while yet, but I’m looking forward to senior discounts.

I don’t know why, but most of my grey hair is on the right side, near my temple. And suddenly I am paying attention to which products help with wrinkles. Sometimes I look at my hands and I don’t recognize them. They belong to an older woman.

So I’m getting up in years. What is the alternative? If I have been given the gift of reaching another birthday, I need to re-evaluate how I am using this gift.

My birthday is Sept. 11. In 2001, I was on vacation. I woke up that day, feeling happy. Until we turned on the TV.

We went out to dinner and I remember sitting there with my loved ones. But I knew that thousands of others did not join their families that night. The thought pained and humbled me.

Later, I was asked how the events of 9-11 affected me. Did I stop celebrating my birthday?

No, I answered. If anything, 9-11 is a reminder that every day could be your last. Life is precious and oh-so-fragile.

So I celebrate. I give thanks. I make each day special somehow. I spend time with my family and friends because they are the best presents of all.

And on the 21st, I will go dancing. If you are an Earth, Wind & Fire fan, you know what I’m talking about.

 

 

 

Responses

  1. You have a really good attitude Amy. Breaking it down, I suppose terrible things happen every day of the year. Some on a grand scale. But probably the most beautiful things happen too…like, you were born that day. Happy birthday month…enjoy every minute of it. 🙂

    • Thank you for your kind words, Veronica. Tragedies cannot be avoided. It’s a part of life. How you deal with it is how you live your life. You have made my Sept. 2 that much more special.

  2. Happy Birthday or should I say, Happy Birthmonth? And also a Happy Autumnal Equinox. I am celebrating the changes in my life by picking up old habits that were a comfort to me at different points in my life. Some may think that a water fast every Sunday and a three-day water fast around the solstices and equinoxes would fit in the dis-comfort category, but the habit is quite grounding once it become…habitual. In any case, Happy September.

    • I’ve never really fasted before, but I understand the significance and benefits of it. It’s something I should do myself. Happy September to you, too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

