Posted by: Amy | June 1, 2012

2012 Goals, Revised

Like countless other well-intentioned people on New Year’s Day, I wrote out a list of goals for 2012.

And I promptly forgot about them.

It took me a while to find it in my files. I realized that I wrote down things that I wanted to accomplish, but didn’t have a game plan. No wonder it didn’t work.

I still want the same things. Lose weight. Save money. Be organized. Write. Create.

There’s no way I can set the clock back to Jan. 1. But I can reset my goals today.

June 1 is special to my family. It’s the day my Mom and three older sisters landed in California on a flight from the Philippines to join my Dad, who had arrived a few months earlier on a work visa. I arrived a year later.

Like many other immigrants, my parents came to the United States to provide a better future for us. I can’t imagine leaving my home, all that is familiar, all that I love. I don’t think I can move to a distant land and start all over. And yet, that’s what they did.

If they were able to overcome their fears and hold onto their hopes and dreams, then I should be doing the very same thing. What better way to honor their sacrifices and hard work?

So, I have reset my 2012 goals, with specific steps toward each one. I’ll talk more about that in upcoming posts. I have set September 1 as a check-in date to check on my progress.

We have six more months of 2012. Are you on track toward your goals this year?

Responses

  1. i’m kinda in line with my goals assuming i make miracles happen in the next month! lol.

    but i’m so glad you shared why june 1 matters to you. i am always in awe of those that make life changes like that.

    • Thank you! Congratulations on keeping up with your goals and of course miracles always happen. Sometimes in the most unexpected ways. 🙂

  2. 2012 is going so fast! I can’t believe we are closing in on half-way through. I don’t set new year’s resolutions because they are the same: lose weight, eat healthfully, blah, blah, blah. However, this year, I published my book so at least I have checked one big item off of my not-written-down list.

    • Hi, Gail!
      I don’t like using the word “resolution” for some odd reason. “Goals” seem more attainable. I know. It’s all quibbling.
      And even though you didn’t write it down, you succeeded in having your book published. Congratulations! That is awesome!


Leave a Reply

Categories

