Posted by: Amy | May 19, 2012

Poem a Day Challenge, Day 7

Write a poem describing a scene in which two or more people interact without speaking.

At the Party

 

I can barely hear

my own thoughts

over the noise

But I feel your stare

penetrating my spine

I turn to look for you

through the surge of party-goers

I finally spot you

near the fireplace

You are not wiping your forehead

with the hankerchief I slipped

into your coat pocket

because of the roaring fire

You are trapped

talking to your ex and her new boyfriend

Our eyes lock and I can tell

you want me to rescue you

You can tell

by the lift of my eyebrow

and slight tilt of my head

that you are on your own.

Leave a Reply

Categories

